top of page

two months of poetry prompts with D & K

Day 1 (Movie)

We made love behind the thin curtain in your childhood home

Silent and watchful as two Japanese soldiers skirting a bunker of American marines

Themselves jacking off into folded wads of Rita Hayworth

The Enola Gay was named after the pilot's mother;

One wonders what their issues were.

The same crew, fresh off Hiroshima,

served as weather reconnaissance for the Nagasaki mission

Diverted from its primary target due to cloud cover

The pilot radioed that fog was too thick.

"We cannot see, sir, we cannot deploy, pull back, pull back - !"

A teenage Japanese pilot climbs into his kamikaze aircraft

No bullets on board and one-way fuel in the tank

Flying straight away from the rising sun

All is lost and nothing gained

The boy at the aviator controls

Diverts away from his target at the very last second

Fuel tank at zero point zero points nose into Pacific

The empire's flag a shroud wound round his body

Dragging him down and down, into the deep

Day 2 (secret and when you learned something)

I'm all fucked up this morning, brokenhearted and my chest like a herd of gerbils is running loose inside me and eating out my internal organs; shame and dread and sadness and fear all settling in for a long winter's nap; not enough sleep, so much shitty parenting over the weekend, and a terrible phone call with Matt in which I tried to express how I get so weirdly hurt by some of the things he does and ended up so humiliated and overexposed and my bowels are like medieval sewers, shit just running through the streets; apparently I do have a raging case of borderline personality, a child Violet's age lives inside me and she is sitting frozen in the corner behind bed and desk by the heater vent; this will be the age when I learn the architecture of suffering, of humiliation, of keeping secrets and of holding them inside and perhaps this kind of pain at some point turns into some kind of clarity or some kind of selective resignation. I could hear in his voice that he felt tired and wished to be done with the exhausting task of doing this woman's work. I cannot see because I cannot see; the blinding presence of my own insecurities steal the stage and ruin the play every time. I'm about to set out on a run and in the dark and Christ be with me, in all things.

Day 3 (Take a stand)

There are a number of things I swear I cannot not do

At night the kids go to bed and I'll fight you with every silent signal, avoiding eyes and invitations, tooth and claw, to create a solitary nest

made out of two fudgesicles and a book and extra,

a small mountain of goldfish crackers

and take my frayed and freaked out self on a little bender;

I remember my client; the one who studied zebrafish as a research postdoc

sharing that at a molecular level, hearing has to do with tiny circles of crystalline dots of embryonic yolk that he would remove his own eyelashes to create a tool fine enough to be able to manipulate under the electron microscope,

inside zebrafish ears those crystals fall down, one by one,

like little dominoes over a time sequence, resulting in fish sound.

Which anyhow is the exact same as the fudgesicles; soothing some internal crystalline domino clock allowing the pale larval version of myself resonate with a feeling of finally being okay enough that perhaps it's all right to go to sleep.

Day 4 (Mysterious envelope)

I imagine X opening this advent window

And hold the journey it will inevitably send her on

Mourning and morning circling like osprey

Because the envelope already arrived

Weighing less than a feather

Matter compressed to the size of a pin before the Big Bang

The envelope that might have been

A threat; a promise; a bullet; a heart; a child -

A single ticket to the country fair - it was faith, hope, and love

And now these three remain, and the greatest of these is love.

Day 6 (tonight I believe…)

Tonight I believe there is nothing to believe

But instead a holy communion

God utters me like a word

containing a partial thought of himself

Invoked or not invoked, God is still present**

I seek the Christ in you, sleeper

And invite you to seek it in me

Uncle Steven used to write an annual Christmas letter

In which, in addition to his desert visions and reports of mountain conditions,

he reflected on the wondrous nature of his lovelife

With Aunt Meredith. How she still moved in passion under his old body

And how they found an ecstatic communion, a wilderness anew

Together each night in their dusty bed in the shadow of Mount Whitney.

Those letters would land on the desks, variously

Of my mother (his sister), his horrified conservative Baptist parents,

The dean of English literature at Berkeley, the chief of the Paiute tribe

In my house the letter was folded neatly into the basket with all the other Christmas cards

Dominated by eighties photos of families in matching sweaters holding cocker spaniels

I remember how embarrassed and electrified I was to read them

Proclaiming year after year that love lasts and lust deepens

The Christ becoming clearer and more enfleshed

Tonight I believe in blood and body, bread and wine, holy sacrament.

** stolen from Merton and Jung

Day 7 (fear)

Wake up in the morning to discover both tea and coffee were

embargoed as part of Trump’s trade war and are

simply no longer available in North America

Running shoes were eaten into unrecognizable shreds overnight

by a herd of omnivorous, hummingbird-sized, thick-legged spiders,

who digested them and then disappeared to various corners of the house;

except you can sort of see their legs sticking out here and there,

and they especially like the underwear drawer.

Overhear my roommate starting to vomit from Norovirus

we must have both contracted given the lukewarm stroganoff we shared

from the same spoon the night before; my most violent symptoms are still three hours away.

The cat dropped several secret hairballs including one on the white couch that I don’t notice until after the fancy ladies from my book club pop by for a surprise visit;

RBG is poisoned in an airport with ricin administered

by an angelic four-year old boy trained since birth as a Russian agent,

It’s November 5, 2020,

And on CNN a panel of pundits are trying to understand the confusion of early polling

As we all settle in for a second term following an election that went in a landslide.

Day 8 (trying in third person)

In which she attempts to compose a firm but civil email to her attorney

Refusing to pay for additional services he claims to have rendered

And the fact he’ll charge a fat Ben Franklin just to dismiss her complaints with the thought:

“And this, sweetheart, is exactly why someone found you impossible to live with”

And despite promises at the outset that it should cost

Somewhat less than the shitty mattress they used to sleep on to dissolve the marriage.

Like it hadn’t already soaked overnight in caustic liquid a thousand times already.

In the email she is demure and fact-filled like Christine Blasey-Ford

A bleary-eyed owl behind those smeary glasses, needing caffeine

Every neck wrinkle on display for all of America to ponder

if they would have drunk-raped her in high school.

Dear Attorney, you are not my type, she types. I would not fuck you

Even if you were blackout drunk behind a dumpster.

Instead she thinks she will find the nest of the owl

That divebombs her on dark dawn mornings

Silently climb the tree that holds the nest, branch after branch

Reach into the hollow in the snag

And pull out owlets one by one,

Lick them mewling eat them blood and feather and beak and bone

Crawl into the nest and take their place

Mother owl makes her into a new chick

Feeds her regurgitated voles and teaches the art

Of misdirected violence.

Day 10 (homophones)

Teaching Violet to read

Bend the will and break the reed

Ascend from halting babble

Break down walls of Babel

The room is airless

Anger; and I’m heirless

She a ballerina baroness

Me a scathing barrenness

Weaponize shame’s bruise

Tiny pain inside her brews

Bribe and cajole and force and box

To join this sullen group of Bocks

Day 11 La Cañada

In the eighties, smog settled in the narrow valley

An enormous fat graybrown Persian cat reclining across our oxygen supply

Refracting the sun into an orange ball

The valley walls hypothetical a mile distant

Not rain trapping us inside from recess to play head’s up seven up

But air pollution days, air conditioning filtering hot soup into cold bouillon

Twice we had big forest fires up the Angeles Crest

From the big living room windows at night my mom, brother and I

watched the red line of fire eating its way

Toward the houses we were inside;

Firetrucks rolling down the streets slow,

loudspeakers in the night blaring “Evacuate! Evacuate!”

Dad despite the divorce on the shake roof of Mom’s house with a puny hose of water

Earthquakes started with a sharp femur snapping “crack!”

And then the big picture windows rippled like waves

Leaving a strange alert exhilaration afterwards

Mom silently panicked for a year afterwards

playing game after game after game of solitaire

Day 13 6/6/6

Me and also the small

One inside that is scared

And never said fuck no

I am frozen to please

We are not doing well

Dark lost and very cold

Lie in bed with baby

Girl asleep next to me

Silent son hurt across

The hall also sleeping

His rage forming into

That which will define us

Forsaken beloved

Kintsugi broken light

We are more real now that

We are defined by loss

We had to break more than

Necessary to breathe

I asked the small one what

She learned so well about

Not making a sound dry-

wall over the heart dead-

en anger into seek-

ing answers outside self

I should probably be

Alone for a year or

A decade might give light

To dark impossible

Want to work with myself

In free clear light of day

Day 14 – dead and the living

Nestled between the cheese plate and paté

Grandpa’s brain was held at 37°

In a brown cardboard box labeled “Human

Remains” in the assisted living fridge.

Excavated after death to donate

A dissecting neurologist’s wet dream

My dad delivered his father’s brain to

The same facility that would receive

His 18 years later; no box needed

Fresh out of the skull to formeldahyde

In 1987 my dad sat

His dad down to talk about their feelings

Conversation captured on cassette tape

Two men in their prime, hearts locked in battle.

Day 15 candy

Monday morning after insomnia and the alarm shrieks and my chest is still a radioactive lake from top of throat down through the chest and making my hands shake.

Sweetheart, sweetheart

i say to myself, i am with you.

Years ago I felt this way and took zoloft, sweet blessed seretonin candy, after two weeks suddenly the lake in my chest got cleaned up like a superfund site and I could breathe again, albeit in a shallow way. I gained fifteen pounds and couldn't come to save my life; poor boyfriend slogging away at oral sex like a steam engine for hours at a time; needed chiropracty after; and I couldn't discontinue without eight months of restless leg and grinding my teeth into broken shards of concrete. But holy shit the miracle of my chest being clean and sweet and still, fear and rage anesthetized, deep underwater, sleeping Ness. Doctors at the institute opine that Dad, Grandpa, and Uncle Don all got Parkinson's from swimming in just such a radioactive lake; Green Pond, which was right next to the Picatinny arsenal. I too, swam in it once, after a cross-country redeye with my dad he took me to his most beloved summer childhood place; I remember the water cool after the humid New Jersey air and the sticky exhaustion of flight. But that's the central confusion: Do I trust the lake, or will it destroy me?

Day 16 Color

Picatinny picatinny

Nick a penny; Pick a ninny

Tin and picky pica nitty

Cyclonite white and bright

Hellfire fight atom’s flight

RDX, flex a hex to HMX

Pickaninny in picatinny

Swimming swimmy

Myelin sheathing

Bequeathing decreasing

Sinemet; sign we met

Pale pastille to brain’s bastille

Lick a penny in the Picatinny

Day 17

Woman Killed by Falling Debris in Times Square

Squarely in the head, she got clobbered

Bird-like it was not, that piece of falling terra-cotta;

Talking on her cellphone at the final moment,

Mental capacities Ferrari’ed sixty to zero

“Oh! Son of a motherless goat!” She exclaimed,

Lamed and brained, an architect and socialite

Lightning strikes only once, they say

Saviors unpresent at the moment of truth

Ruthless gods kidnap their quarry

Original sin our Eve had committed;

It did not block the angels from arriving.

Day 18

Opposites

To be what one is not –

Faculties gone to pot;

Neuroses lost their plot;

How long before it is noticed -

I sit a perfect lotus,

A smooth and silky poetess;

Allergic to cats; uninterested in priests;

Hawking essential oils; cruel to beasts.

Mascara forgotten, caffeine ceased.

Perhaps for one day

I could play it that way;

Dance and sing; for once, say:

“A cigar is just a cigar!”

Ban gray from repertoire

Watch TV, hardy har har

Day 19 Mad Libs

Poseidon stepped in a fresh green cow patty

While polishing the dregs of a bottle of maraschino cherries

His mind murmuring with memories of the mermaids

Now exiled, he wandered, centipedes wrapped into the long dreds of his hair,

Bandying a slow bolero around the dead body of his ancient companion

William, scheduled to catch bus 321 to the underworld

His eyes burned with tears, a quiet knowledge he was repeating

Endlessly, the patterns that would imprison him

No Vaseline to soften or loosen his escape.

Day 20 Tiny Delight

My love

makes

tiny “hunh”

sounds when

listening with

his heart

A small

chirp

of

presence

The tiniest

invitation:

Yes – and -

linger – and –

stay – and -

more.

Day 21

(De-stress)

Before leaving; a mild dread of it but also a hunger for it,

Circumnavigation between procrastination and rush

Left to settle, a sludge liquefies lung cavity into undifferentiated bucket of Ebola goo

Muscle tissue falls off bones like Dali clocks

Skull fills with cotton balls soaked in iodine and exploded in a popcorn popper

Tiny copper wire running from brainstem into foregut runs green electricity

Eyeballs burn dipped in a mild Drano bath

Scope-defying halitosis and mild trembling shakes

Cognition left to traverse a single lane highway with construction flaggers

And so: Leave.

The heart the center pushing and cleaning; a dialysis of miles

Sweeping and scrubbing; microscopic Downton Abbey scullery maids

Open each room and pull back every curtain and swipe the sheets off the sofas

Rats and roaches are trapped and discarded, chamber pots dumped in the street.

My soulful self goes along for the ride; Bran carried by Hodor

And sometimes clarity comes as the sludge retreats, left on the wrack line

A knowing thing is washed up and left for examination;

Carried home now by a new being; capable of facing what remains.

Day 22 Punctuation

Transcribing Simon for five minutes

I got the dragon in there

I have everything I need

I went into the dark place

I take the path to get there directly

Instead of getting myself lost

A hard form holds a liquid more firmly

Mom what would you do if I had two million dollars

What would you have as your superpower

What would you do if I turned into a kitten

What would you do if we had a t-rex in the backyard

I want to get to the very hardest level and see if I can defeat it

My sister is gone on a playdate now I can relax

One kid with one parent is the best

Two parents is too much control but with two kids it’s out of control

Day 25 Prose love

(Love, prose poem)

Last night I took Simon and Violet over to Joyce’s and met Matt there for a Christmas get-together. Only the mildest apprehension prior to arrival; Matt being there is likely a safety buffer plus the kids plus maybe she and I are pretty much ok although I was tired and that can be trouble. Walking into her home as a kid and frankly up until about age 35 it felt like being pushed out the door of an airplane like an Argentinian desaparacido; not really the falling into the ocean from two miles up part, more just the flight out and waiting for the bay door to open. And now I walk in willingly; always the quick sizing up at the door and the hug more bird like and ambivalent than I know how to metabolize in the moment. She is saying without saying, “you have hurt me but here you are to maybe hurt me more and you believe I have hurt you and I know that but I can’t look at it because it would make my life cave into a volcanic crater and also maybe you can help take the hurt away, let the games begin”, and me saying basically the same. We do all this while the kids pounce around like spring lambs and while commenting on the pros and cons of using an air-fryer to cook a turkey breast which parenthetically is a highly effective way to create astronaut food which then is served as the Christmas meal. And then Matt, God bless him, turns out to be an adult fully capable of animatedly chatting for three hours with a charming 74-year old southern lady who despite previous advertising from his grim and hyperbolic girlfriend, does not slam doors in anyone’s face nor make cutting comments that lacerate anyone’s self-esteem leading to decades of psychotherapy. He claims to really like her, which possibly will result in my needing to throw him out of the hold of an airplane over the open ocean at some point in the future, but I also rest assured that she will at some point act out horribly in his presence and I will be vindicated in my bitchiness and man oh man is this turkey breast ever dry; communion host mixed with wasa crackers. The night’s conversation somehow leads to my reading off google the characteristics of everyone’s astrological sign, which miraculously are a perfect simulacrum of each person present; Joyce, an Aires, is described as hot-headed, competitive, impulsive, and difficult to please. She proclaims in all dead-seriousness that she is nothing like that, while the ten-year old in the room says it is a perfect match and then recalls for the crowd the time she threw my birthday cake onto the floor and a wine glass across the room as evidence and then obliviously goes off to play with his new lego set. His sign, a Cancer, described him as preternaturally empathetic. Mine described me as wishy-washy and diplomatic to the point of self-oblivion, and Matt, independent, self-sufficient, and internally preoccupied. Violet, a Leo, warm-hearted and generous, the age I was when some essential part of me was run through a tree chipper and then air-fried into this Christmas' turkey dinner by the woman in question, asks me if she can spend the night with her Granny, a home where she feels happy and safe and free; imagine – redemption.

Day 29 Rispetto

Defensive fat shit-eating grins

Watching white and black lady walk;

It only begins with the skins,

Lion and lamb, hail to Barack.

White liberal niceness likes this

Peaceable kingdom: goodbye kiss

Not in my backyard to be sure

Some black, but not much: reassure.

Day 23 Procrastination

My marriage was ended after 17 years

By a small ball lodged in my chest

The size of a nectarine

But gray in color and filled with fog

Cold and still and empty

Things attempted to fill the ball with a different substance included:

Mindfulness meditation in which my anxious intuition to leave was seen as a thought on a passing train and/or cloud; pausing with compassion for self prior to critical judgment;

seeing my husband as the unattainable father who finally loved me unconditionally; deciding ours was a successful arranged marriage which billions in India would be grateful for;

reading his journals to concoct a feeling of love and gratitude for his poignant and charming perspective; committing to a once-per-week schedule of lovemaking;

accepting that Jesus would be my companion and the only solace for the existential dread in my heart was that of the universal Christ; engaging in hundreds or thousands of conversations to attempt to describe the contours of loneliness;

reading articles forwarded by friends about how modern marriage is expected to be too ideal and a woman in a previous generation would have been content with my situation; imagining adopting from foster care after our kids left home in order not to be alone in the house with him,

avoiding years of date nights so as not to have the sick lonely feeling grow to cantaloupe proportions; diagnosing myself with an attachment disorder incapable of secure connection;

numbing and avoiding my emotional world with an epic number of lowfat icecream popsicles; numbing and avoiding my emotional world with an obsession with the 2016 election; numbing and avoiding my emotional world with _______________

Day 30: Seven

Seven years old I entered third grade

Youngest and ugliest and book-smartest and

Precociously self-conscious, able to glory in

Seeing myself as I imagined being seen

Summers I’d ride the Queen of Tsawwassen

Between the mainland and Galiano Island where

My grandmother brought me to safety under

Her gray feathered wing. On the ferry

I would stand casually posing on the

deck in front of the big picture

windows and imagine the people inside imagining

me to be romantic and wistful and

unattainably beautiful. Ostentatiously self-conscious of being

watched and oddly longed for, the cause

of envy and wonder; a heroic solitary

character. “Who is that lonely, brave girl?”

I thought them to be thinking, as

I gazed dramatically into the distance pretending

To think deep and concerned thoughts about

Perhaps, my dead mother and the baby

deer that I would nurse back to

life, how deeply my soul was held

by Jesus and other sentimentalities that kept

me apart and special and untouchable until

the ship’s horn would blast and I’d

have to come inside to my grandparents

to go back to the car where

my grandma gave me saltines and Tums

as a snack; we played Go Fish.

Day 31 Prologue

I’m owl-attacked

Exhausted

And sidestepping

No goal just a Great White's

Sensitivity to blood in the water

And feral cat’s disbelief

In the kindness of strangers

Or perhaps not strangers;

They walk past without offering

Tuna from their sandwich

But sometimes out of desperation

I have wound tail around the leg

Of the man in fedora with hand out

Saying “pssst psst kitty!”

But charity is easy

I love it

When you say something

Finally true from the center

And your eyes are still

I know you’ll say

Tell me three good things

And put in earplugs

After I bring up Hitler’s biography

And incest at 3 am

I am the canary

You are the coalmine

I am Tiresias; blind clairvoyant

I have come this far pulled

by a space in my chest

the size of seven nesting hummingbirds

It is embarrassing

To keep crying on the phone

But how in the hell else

Will I ever end up

Anywhere but here?

I want to walk headscarved

Through Istanbul and Tehran;

Aleppo before cluster munitions

And disappear into some tiny door

where love will welcome me with silence and knowing eyes

Welcome me to a secret sisterhood

Of those who know but cannot say

The terms of surrender

I used to be a Rothko

Rust, Blacks on Plum

Now a Cezanne

Rocks near Chateau Noir

He painted Mont Sainte-Victoire

A dozen times and died.

My solitariness the same.

I like to wake ahead of the kids

And find in 4 am the safest place

Now disturbed by love or its lack

I have become a glutton

Khodumodumo

Swallowing whole villages of sleeping innocents

I love to hear from women

Who have words for all the pain

Who can see the interlocking

Embroidered half-hitch sailor knot

Interspliced with macramé

That makes up the impossibility

Of safety without presence

I fear if faced with watermelon

On a hot August day

I might still be preoccupied with

The place in my chest cavity where a leak has sprung

Making it impossible to breathe

Except in short gasps.

Truth, Beauty, and Goodness

Being all the proof allowed

Not the proof I need.

April: Day 1

Mama shot the dogs with a 12-gauge.

He and Frank heard muffled poppoppop

Walking now running the mile home from the bus

What now, oh god oh mama nonono

Their sleek furry bodies warm in the dust.

In darkened bedroom she blamed him

for not having fed the dogs that morning.

Later; but not that day, she killed the pony, too.

Soaked it in kerosene; lit it on fire,

He had to bury it in New Mexico clay;

Dad sawed off its hooves to make it lie flat

And a thunderstorm unearthed it.

These were not the only things that happened.

A skinny sweet-hearted boy

On a dusty failing horse ranch;

Loved to cook, loved to tinker.

At sixteen he sat alone on the school bleachers

And another boy’s mama sidled close:

“Hey, are you okay?”

He exploded into tears and ran

Never said a word

Joined the Marines and gotthefuckout

Now he’s fifty and he’s building my mom a house

I saw he hung a crucifix over the bandsaw in his workspace

And a framed postcard of the Pieta.

I spent a year trying to make him love me

In the way I needed

Dream I hold the 12-gauge.

Wave it dramatically; turn it on him,

but use it on myself;

Leave him to clean the mess,

And a note that blames him

for not having fed me.

I hold him lightly

Give his dog treats

Together we cook and tinker

I have a photo of him, age four, framed on my desk.

My bowlcut beauty, beloved, friend.

Grandma and her son

Tunafish sandwiches in wax paper

Folded in perfect origami

Towhees in the feeder outside

And also finches and the dratted jays

Licorice in the drawer

For no reason other than a happy “why not?”

Grandpa slowly chewing with eight incisors

Silent and resigned to our hilarity.

Little Drummer Boy on the piano

Grubby kid hands on old arthritic knuckles

Grandma says, “Well, he seems like a good man.

Although perhaps a lot like your father -

Whom I never could forgive

For leaving your mother like he did.”

Uncle Steven sidles in: “Love is a wild dog,

And you are a wolf. Danger is near. Howl my beloved.”

Grandma nods;

Passes out the tunafish.

Childhood

No

Oh please no

Quiet! GodDAMmit

Nonono ohgodno

hold !still

hold -- stay -- stop – don’t!

Ohgod

Step step step stepstepstop

Oh:

No

Avalanche

Violet wants to be touched but not touched not held or grasped but running past me sweeping under legs and rolling over me in the grass and gimme five and picked up onto the tall height and brought back down she edges up sideways and leaves her avalanche of beauty pulling down a mountain of desire to capture her on stork legs she escapes at a million miles per hour burying my heart in the space between us in which she grows like a golden weed.

How I Became Single Again

We met on this precise date one year ago. I thought him intelligent, self-inquiring, steady; the edge of sharp pain that had caused him to take a strange path glinting behind him like the reflection off a car’s mirror, in our periphery. Mannerful, cordial, capable of conversing; for me -after an adulthood with a husband who could not do the smoothing basics of social interaction – the ease he created was a relief; he was happy to assume his side of running the engine of connection. He expressed curiosity about me, not an enmeshing desire to be liked or wanted, but an actual desire to know what my experience was. He wanted to try it on to see if it fit him, and that wanting to know and to feel it so he could feel it for himself was very intimate. It all made me want him. I wanted that strong manly solidity and warmth to glow all over my life. I wanted him to see all the intricate parts of me and expose them to that light and have him smile and say, “oh yes”. He was a soul like my father but a lover. I started to show off, to show up. How much could he glow on me? How much would he? And I would in turn hold him in my light; I could see more depth and intricacy in him and it elicited sympathy but he did not need of feed off the sympathy because he was also holding himself in that light he has. So my sympathy just became an honoring of him, and he felt that as safe and it was. Over time I wanted him to bring his light to more and more of my life. And soon there started to feel like there wasn’t enough. He was a sun in constant eclipse. His light was titrated; it was a resource somewhat scarce; the more I wanted the more he held back; felt accused and criticized; the light flickered; I danced faster and pushed and prodded wanting more; anxious now; like one of those days at the beach when the clouds cover the sun and it’s biting cold and then clouds part and the warmth flirts in for a moment but the clouds threaten. And he became angry and he started to fear me; resent me, and I could feel it but he did not say it; it only played out in the sense of cool and heat, unpredictable; fragile. And I questioned if he was light at all; if perhaps that warmth was a façade, something else; he had seen me in all my showing up and showing off and the light was not warm; instead it was naming me with fearful names, and the shame and anger came flowing in like a dam that broke and we saw it all happen and now we stand together looking at the great mess we made; alone.

Hand

The handsome Archbishop homilized the confirmants

“I am in the palm of the church due to the Eucharist”

And pointed with one bony finger at inert bowls of wafers

As a couple hundred sweaty-palmed immigrant adolescents

In sexpot dresses and cat-eye makeup long to finger one another;

They look on handily; anthropologists in the world,

Of handsy empowered white men.

Oh dumb cat

Lost in a storm

Door flew open

Left a warm bed

For a black blow

Moon and star

******

odd symptoms

Tapped into google

Suggest glioblastoma;

Psychosis; dementia;

As well as hayfever

The still waiting of a house

Perfectly clean

Even laundry folded

Dishes away

Before company arrives

Walking home

At the end of the last workday

Before a two week break

The end, like death; out of sight

Yet close; makes each drop sweet

About to deliver news

That will break a heart

Comes with fear

And causes rage

A hundred future selves lost

A cat; lost for days

Appears at the door

Suddenly inhabiting

The yawning empty space

Of her former disappearance

Your son says a thing

Wise and deep

He only learned

By facing pain

Alone

***

Think of the waterlilies hanging in the D’Orsay, alone now

Day after day. The room is charging and charging and charging

An endless defibrillator, beauty gushing out and not being seen;

Just gushing and gushing into the room not being lapped up by cameras or eyes

To enter the room now like being licked and nursed by a thousand pound snow leopard, like being swallowed into the sun after an endless space journey; like being drowned in a giant pool of honey in a hidden valley at the peak of Mount Fuji; like being loved by a god, a siren, a phoenix, ravished and ravaged and torn open and burned - ?

****

Occasionally we stretch off the land of ourselves

Onto a dock that extends into the water

Of that which rushes past us but is not of us

We stand upon the dock; separated from self

Over that which is made of fantasy, hope, and dream;

The dreams of others, their projections, their plans for us.

It is possible to live upon the dock

Connected to self but separate; grounded not in land

But floating upon the story of an other

For long years.

The journey back to self

Is made of a commitment to truths so hard

They appear to threaten each creosote plank

That holds us above drowning.

****

The leader of the free world hunkers impatiently in the head

Drafting tweets and awaiting deliverance of his pound of prunes.

Advisors loom in the Oval; flailing at governance as disaster

frogmarches the citizenry en masse off a plank.

“LIBERATE Virginia!” Tweets the pres; Fauci pounds a fist on the Resolute;

Cuomo gets on the phone to the local 504, drafting 50 drivers of refrigerated semis

Redeployed to stack patients in yellow bags rolling out the back of Montefiore.

The democratic candidate runs on a plank of obsolescence; looming his November loss

Out of yet another set of circumstances too terrible to count on his pruned fingers.

***

die unzufriedene Frau

“die unzufriedene Frau - the discontented woman – it’s what my mother always called me; and herself.” - Daisy

I want not too close

Closer farther closer now

Not exactly there but here is good

And soft and hard also

Strip dressed and run here being still

And leave now don’t move stay

Darker deeper more and stop but don’t

Leave and be here always and also never

Be with me go away just right

Be outside and come inside

No and yes but not.

****

catgut

oh Catgut you hold me

inside tender webbing

fiddling incessantly with

my heart’s rubiks cube

silent shotgun rider

you knew me then and

know me now magnet

compassed south

to turn the mobius

strip of intimacy

into a desert salted

with frog eggs

lying dormant a hundred

years until the rain

comes but always quicksand

and lava threaten

to swallow and burn

so leap sofa to

coffeetable don’t

fall in.

****

granny panties

there may or may not be a god

loving me even as I insist

on sticking my head inside a pair of XL

granny panties; tying off my vision

and taking three dizzying spins

as sole preparation for the navigation

of an unspent minefield

surrounded by a barracuda-filled moat

patrolled from above by Predator drones

and from below by tunneling Sinaloas

inhabited by goliath birdeating spiders

and backed into San Quentin’s basketball court;

But my god there are some friends -

you know who you are

wise owl, grasshopper, Beloved -

you take my hand

“Nice panties”, you say

And show the way.

****

The teacher tells the story

Of the ex-con who writes his estranged and elderly parents:

“I’ll come on the 23rd but only go to the door if you hang a blanket on the line”

And so walks the long road to home;

Twenty years or more since he raged down the road in hatred and shame;

And with fear he approaches; about to turn back

But then on the road; sees a blanket in the tree

And twenty more in the road, paving the final curve;

And finally his childhood home, covered roof to stoop

In blanket upon blanket upon blanket.

****

The fundamental law of magic is that the message; what something means is not separate from the way something instantiates in the world. And you can’t separate the two.

I was thinking about the medium is the message also in terms of McLuhan’s religious beliefs. Because McLuhan was of course a daily communicant; he was as Catholic as you could possibly get. He would go to St Michael’s Parish every fuckin’ day and he was very religious; and yet – he’s seen as this very cool, Playboy interview kind of guy, very secular in what he writes, but when you think about the medium is the message as a Christological concept, well then it’s obvious – like, the whole thing about Christ’s incarnation is that the medium is the message – Logos – the word becomes flesh – it’s that the life of Christ is the message, is God, you can’t separate those two things anymore…incarnation is divinization; to exist in the material world is to be spiritual. As fresh as his theories felt…there’s something ancient about it, something ageless about it, something that goes way back…that’s cool to think about them in terms of magical theory.

“The content of any medium is always another medium…hidden within McLuhan is a theory of Logos incarnating itself; of something nonverbal, something completely outside coming in and shaping the world. For me, as a Catholic myself, and someone interested in magic and the esoteric, when I read McLuhan, I can’t help but realize, he says that, he’s giving us a very clear indication of the mysticism at the center of his philosophy. What he’s talking about is that everything we see as history is actually the incarnation of the spiritual. And that’s a Catholic vision. And let’s be calm here. When I say a Catholic vision I’m not talking about a Roman Catholic vision specifically…I’m talking about Catholicism as a particular instantiation of ancient religious thought. It’s not something that you need to kiss the Pope’s feet to believe this stuff. This is magical through and through. Catholicism is a magical system. That’s what it is. That’s why it works. And so what I’m saying is that there is a magical theory of incarnation in McLuhan and everything he’s talking about is how the divine transforms itself into the world, and how the imminence of the divine in the world and how it manifests, and how we as human beings have a responsibility to become aware of the divine so that we can see where things are going. Because when we live blindly and we practice an idolatry of each instantiation of the divine thinking it is the thing…or thinking we that now we finally understand what reason means because we have confused reason with language…this blindness we are in is the kind of golden calf idolatry that leads us astray. Whereas what we need is a kind of artistic or magical vision that calls us back to the background. The ultimate background which is nonverbal and divine…”

Let’s be calm here

the divine transforms itself into the world don’t

kiss the Pope’s feet the word becomes flesh

a magical system that’s what it is

that’s why it works

history is the incarnation of the spiritual

ancient religious thought

the imminence of the divine

in the world manifests

we have confused reason

with language leads us astray

St Michael’s parish every fuckin’ day

someone interested in magic and the esoteric

let’s be calm here

that’s a Catholic vision

the life of Christ is God

ancient magical theory fresh

the divine transforms itself into the world this

very cool Playboy interview kind of guy

the magical theory of incarnation

each instantiation of the divine

I’m not a Roman Catholic vision

this is magical through and through

incarnation an artistic vision calls us to the background

Logos incarnating itself the medium is the message

the word becomes flesh

lead us astray divine mysticism golden blindness

a daily communicant manifests the nonverbal divine

***

A dating website is that final scene in Raiders when the ark is wheeled into a giant warehouse of identical crates;Each one full of nazi-melting gods; sweeping destruction to all whose eyes are open

In middle age, the only sense left unencumbered is that of touch. Smell has departed due to covid,

and with it taste, allowing consumption of velveeta cheese slices;

the tiny hairs sensitizing the auditory canal so many burnt and broken stumps;

sight since grade school bleary and myopic.

The sound of my ex-lover’s voice on the phone tastes of Gacy’s final KFC order before electrocution

Maxim Loskutoff tapped out his response to my fan mail one-thumbed while seated on a white Kohler

Or else those crates: they are just full of dust.

My best friend once said my spirit animal was a dust bunny. Funny at the time. Mustn’t think about it too hard, though.

Dumbfuckery and douchebaggery along with roaringdumpsterfire all seem like excellent additions to the Oxford English

Because if you have words for something you can overcome it, said a dumbfuck douchebag somewhere, perched on the lip of a roaringdumpsterfire.

I simply can no longer with the man who calls it “sexy time” and asks to go for “walkies”.

The humiliating cat of reality will scratch your eyes out given a chance

And the wise teacher tells us all hope is lost; we are seaworthy Titanics

I overcome and stand firm; clear in self-knowledge; a beacon:

Susannah Banana; Suzie Jacuzzi; Sue Poo; SueBeeHoney was destined for greatness, this according to the 1993 yearbook, in which the merits of sugarfree donuts are also expounded -

And this great reckoning of arks and dustbunnies and roaringdumpsterfires shall be rendered as we are lashed to the pole;

A potbellied Harrison Ford forgets to tell us to close our eyes as the ark is opened;

Take delight in the lord and he shall grant you the desires of your heart

Hijo de la gran puta no sabe ni mierda

Gacy's chicken looked me straight in the eye; said, "To thine own self be true" and hopped in the fryer

A god is escaping through the tiniest crack in the ark’s crate; this one sneaky, leaking out like a line of ants.

***

1980 in Pasadena, California

I am four years old and

Feeding the tiny succulent

Jewels of the leaves off a sedum

Through the ear hole in my

Bouncy riding horse

Which is located on the back patio

It feels like morning

The air light and warm

Of 9 or 10 am on a

Southern California day

Must it be a weekend

For me to be home?

My mother must have

Helped me get out of bed

That morning, out of twisted pajamas

And fed my little girl body into

A handstitched sundress

I imagine she was kind through

Those pleasures of my apricot skin

And downfluff hair

The clothes I am certain

Were neatly folded in the cedar drawer

Little feet secured into white sandals

I am sure she helped me potty

Saying things like “a hop skip and a jump”

and made me breakfast

God she took pleasure in me

Grapenuts or grapefruit perfectly dissected

And real silver spoon with serrated tip

Sugar I piled on myself from the

blue and white sugarbowl

And then I am left alone and

It occurs to me to go outside

Through the goldroom

Which has orange carpet and flowered

Wallpaper on the ceiling

And windows all around

The air is like a bite of ripe cantaloupe

And the horse is my baby

I get in trouble for peeling off those sedum petals

But I always do because they are the food

And my horse is hungry and

I murmur to him how good he is

And the petals, a perfect aloe-y pop

Plunk plunk plunk into his plastic insides

Through the hole in his head

And riding him he lists

slightly to one side and squeaks

like an old bed on someone’s wedding night

My mother taps on the window that

Overlooks the patio

Waving at me to stop ruining the plant

I comply briefly and then do it in hiding.

A tiny snap in my chest

As I resist and refuse

I am galloping away but still held firm

I hold my secret No

She holds her endless Yes.

bottom of page